Achy to serve as juror for the 2018 Neustadt Prize

Dr. Robert Con Davis-Undiano, Neustadt Professor and executive director of the World Literature Today organization at the University of Oklahoma, this week announced the names of nine jurors chosen to select the winner of the 2018 Neustadt International Prize for Literature.

Davis-Undiano called this group “one of the most prestigious Neustadt juries ever.”  Each juror will nominate one writer to be the 2018 Neustadt Prize winner.

The jurors are Alisa Ganieva, a Russian novelist from Dagestan; Major Jackson, an American poet; Adnan Mahmutović, a Bosnian-Swedish novelist and literary scholar; Dipika Mukherjee, a linguist and writer who is equally at home in the United States, India and Malaysia;Achy Obejas, a Cuban-American writer and translator; Ladan Osman, a Somali-born poet and teacher; Sasha Pimentel, a Filipina poet with roots in Manila, Saudi Arabia, and the American Southwest; Zia Haider Rahman, a British novelist; and Mahtem Shiferraw, an Ethiopian-born poet.

Read the rest…

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s